LaTrobe University

About La Trobe University

La Trobe University is a multi-campus university in Victoria, Australia. It was established in 1964 by an Act of Parliament to become the third university in the state of Victoria.The main campus of La Trobe is located in the Melbourne suburb of Bundoora

La Trobe offers undergraduate and postgraduate courses across five major faculties, covering all the main learning areas: Education; Health Sciences; Humanities and Social Sciences; Business, Economics and Law; and Science, Technology and Engineering. La Trobe is considered to be particularly strong in the area of arts and humanities.

It has been ranked amongst the top 25 institutions in the world in this category and third best in Australia. It also has a strong international reputation in biomedicine

In terms of research quality, the university exhibits strength in the areas of arts and humanities, and biological and biotechnical sciences. In 2012 La Trobe was ranked 3rd in the state in the Australian Research Council's Excellence in Research for Australia.

La Trobe University is a member of the Innovative Research Network of universities in Australia, a group that collectively receives over $340 million in research grants.

La Trobe University has been confirmed as one of the nation’s leading research universities, climbing to third in Victoria, based on the Excellence in Research Australia(ERA).

Read more

Facts and Figures

For over 45 years La Trobe University has been seeking knowledge,challenging convention, and changing the way people think. Officially opened in 1967 as Victoria’s third university with a total of 552 enrolments, we have since expanded to become one of Australia’s leading higher education institutes. We now have six campuses, accommodate close to 34,000 students and employ over 3,200 staff. 

To date, more than 154,000 alumni have graduated from our five faculties: Business, Economics and Law; Humanities and Social Sciences; Education; Health Sciences; and Science, Technology and Engineering. 

We are consistently ranked among the top 500 universities in the world (Academic Ranking of World Universities), and our research 

in biochemistry and cell biology is considered to be Australia’s best (2010 ERA rankings).

In May 2012 the QS World University Rankings placed us among the top 50 universities in the world under the age of 50. 

We want students to choose La Trobe because our distinctive and high quality degrees will best equip them to understand and engage with the global issues of today and embark on the most interesting and rewarding careers available. Our graduates will be ‘work ready’, ‘world ready’ and ‘future ready’. 

Our graduates will be renowned for their employability, for their deep understanding of the most pressing challenges facing the global community, and for their ability to address those challenges intelligently and decisively. Our academic activities will increase the capabilities and choices of future generations and prepare them to be ethical global citizens.

La Trobe students will have the benefit of an extensive range of enrichment experiences within, or alongside, assessed curriculum. These activities will complement more formal learning experiences and help students shape their future. La Trobe students will enjoy high quality campus facilities and seamless and efficient student services.

Read more